Skip to content

>Two Gifts in Two Days

May 6, 2011

>

I have been gifted with love by the fists full
every spring for a decade.
But never like this
backed by a flair of early rye
bound in lavendar pony with silver sparkles.

I am ashamed
I bit back,
“You did this? You never do this!”
When she announced
“I’m done with my bath now.”
Done means
puddles to sop from the title
Barbies down the drain
a foam of too-much soap
and heaps of sodden washcloths.
The only thing Hope left me
was a small drift of sand
in the tub
like an artifact of reality
and a heart full of wonder.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

