Skip to content

>Things Present and Things to Come

May 9, 2011

>Fighting for Faith in the Face of FASD

My child with FASD who often passes for typical at this phase of her life, has the same impact on my spiritual and mental health as (I imagine) raising triplets with quadriplegic cerebral palsy. Joy looks and acts disabled. But the truth is that Hope is the one who brings me to my knees and keeps me there.

God is not limited by FASD. The Bible tells me so.

 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate me from the love of God in Jesus Christ.” Romans 8:38

And I know because God shows me it is so in the lives of women who struggle, faithfully, to see God in the midst of FASD.

Divorce and disruption statistics tell us that FASD has every potential of being a millstone around a family’s neck. Tonia at A Study in Brown has learned to accept the millstone as a gift and has put it to use as ballast to balance the ship of her soul in the heavy seas of parenting a child with FASD.

I was introduced to Tonia’s work last year when Dorothy linked to a haunting post Tonia wrote, a song almost heard. At that time, Tonia was taking a break from blogging. But I was thrilled last week to discover that Tonia has returned. She continues to work out her faith in inspired prose as she stakes out the truth of the coming Kingdom in this fallen world.

If like me, you could use some inspiration to think and to write well, and  to live mindfully in the midst of things present, Tonia’s March 7, 2011 post The Language of the Peaceable Kingdom is a lovely place to begin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

