Skip to content

Faith Returns Home

September 11, 2011
tags:

a Blog Worth Following

One of the fun features of WordPress is being able to easily follow the bloggers who use the same tags I do. Not the same “categories” which is the WP equivalent of Blogger’s “tags.” WP’s “categories” create a subject index for my blog. WPs “tags” create a meta-index across WordPress blogs. Tutorial over.

The WP tags feature has introduced me to some wonderful blogs written by women of faith wrestling with the sovereignty of God and the realities of family life with FASD. Faith Returns Home is one of those blogs.

Even better, Julie is far ahead of me on the parenting curve. Her oldest affected daughter is a young adult, while my Hope is only six. So Julie has had decades to wrestle with the theological questions and parenting matters that have only recently occurred to me.

For example, back in June, I dipped my toes in the water of wrestling out loud with Sin, Discipline and a Damaged Brain. Last Friday, for FASD Awareness Day, Julie brought back out a wonderful post from her now-private blog on that same subject: Behavior, Sin, and the Brain. Julie’s thoughts must predate mine by years and her post was not made in response to mine. At the same time, it is exactly the kind of material I hoped might turn up if I asked my questions out loud.

God often works serendipitously :).

I have not found many authors wrestling with the theological aspects of physically invisible disabilities –which makes sense considering the day-to-day challenges of living with things like FASD. I, for one, am plagued by lack of writing time. But by God’s grace, Julie has more than seven hundred posts already written and archived on her private blog. I will be gratefully following as she doles them out publicly again. Thank you, Julie!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 3:33 pm

    Thanks for the link! My daughter’s brain didn’t fit cleanly into the doctrine and theology of the church I was attending. I found that the Universal Church does a poor job creating theology around the area of even visible disabilities. One of the things I find myself pondering about and reading has to do with disability and theology. I haven’t found one statement that I can completely agree with. But, I am more comfortable accepting the mystery of an omniscient Creator ~

Leave a Reply

