Skip to content

Life in 2-D

September 16, 2011

One of the pleasures of packing to move (there are a few!) comes from having decided I would not automatically move every box of vaguely labeled material stored downstairs 17 years ago when we built this house. First, I’d open each one and determine whether it was worth moving and storing it again.

The you-never-know-what-you’ll-find factor has been the carrot on my stick as I work through the copyedited manuscript. When I’ve finished the allotted page quota, I get to go play Nancy Drew in our basement.

Last weekend I rediscovered a box of college and post-college writing that I forgotten I kept. So this week, when the subject of strabismus and monocular vision came up, I remembered this essay I wrote for my MFA application on that subject about twenty years ago. I don’t know if I was aware of it at the time, but at this distance I can detect the influence of my college writing mentor, Natalie Kusz . Natalie’s Road Song, her memoir about her Alaskan childhood and the accident that changed her life, has fresh resonance now that I’m the mother of children with disabilities.

The essay on my own experience living life in 2- not 3-D –I have monocular vision and therefore no depth perception –is about a thousand words, so I’ll break it up into a couple of posts over the next few days. Just thought it might encourage some of you whose children (like Joy and me) live with strabismus and the possibility of permanently depth-impaired sight.

For me, it is not an impairment, but a gift.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

