Skip to content

Songs that Teach, Books that Rhyme

September 29, 2011

I woke up with my mommy hat on this morning and have about 48 hours before I have to exchange it for my mover’s cap. While my brain is still on this channel, I want to ask:

What are your favorite songs that teach? What are your favorite books that rhyme?

We’re discovering that Joy has a wonderful capacity to memorize, especially if the content goes into her brain in the form of music (with words) or rhyme. I want to be more intentional about using this to teach her things. But none of my other girls have a strongly aural learning style so  I don’t know what’s out there.

Like do you have a favorite skip counting CD? Besides the Hide ’em in your Heart CDs and the Foundations Verses CD from Children Desiring God, are there others that work on Bible memory? How about Bible-related things like teaching the books of the Bible? Anyone used/like the geography and history songs series?

As far as rhyming books, we have everything written by Dr. Seuss. But there’s not a lot to be gained from having Horton Hears a Who (or even Mother Goose) memorized, if you know what I mean. So I’m thinking rhyming books that teach? Poetry? Something else?

If possible, I’d love it if adults can tolerate listen to whatever it is over and over again, because Joy also loves repetition. Thanks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 12:57 pm

    I don’t know if you have used any of the Leap Frog DVD’s, like Word Factory, Letter Factory, Math Factory, etc., but they are excellent!!! Not sure if they are what you are looking for, but they really helped some of my kids who had a hard time learning some of the basic reading skills. They might have a rhyming one.

  2. Joan permalink
    October 2, 2011 8:28 pm

    Steve Green put out a couple CDs for children that were Scripture verses set to music.

Leave a Reply

