Skip to content

Put One Basket in Front of the Other

October 28, 2011

…and soon you’ll be walkin’ out the door.

This was supposed to be a post praising Dorothy‘s “How To Move Across the Street Using Laundry Baskets” technique. But the illustrations are on my camera which is still MIA. Amazingly, it is the only casualty of the move.

Here’s the idea: sturdy laundry baskets and plastic bins are easier  to use than cardboard boxes if, like us, you have the option of moving piecemeal. We closed on our new house twenty-five days ago. It is only a mile from our previous house and we spent the next two weeks cleaning the new house and relocating and unpacking everything that would fit in a laundry basket or a bin  –one van-full per day. So when it came to moving day, all we had left was the big furniture. After the furniture came over, we were already 90% unpacked. It was lovely to be able to get down to living here almost right away.

Except for the telephone and Internet, which took about a week longer to arrive. But if you know me IRL, you know I shed no tears over having no telephone :). No Internet was not as hard as I thought. The old house became my once per day Internet cafe and I was so busy that I had little time to notice. That is, notice anything other than how much more time I have in my day without Internet access. Hmm…

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2011 11:22 am

    I really dislike the phone…I don’t think we really need them now that we have email! Praying for you during this moving transition time.

Leave a Reply

