Skip to content

Songs in the Night

December 3, 2011

Psalm 16:7

“I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me.” (ESV)

“I will bless the Lord who hath given me counsel; my reigns also instruct me in the night seasons.” (KJV)

*****

Wednesday night, after a hard day on the heels of a very hard week the parenting front,  I went to bed perplexed and fell asleep praying for discernment. I awoke Thursday morning with my heart singing a worship song, “Your Name” by Paul Baloche:

“Your name [God] is a strong and mighty tower

Your name is a shelter like no other

Your name –let the nations sing it louder

Nothing has the power to save, but your name.”

The song was a gift, a clear answer to my prayer, a sign post pointing “This Way Out” of my indecision. I came fully awake with the message still ringing, grateful that the Holy Spirit sings.

Joy was still asleep so I got up and turned on my computer to find the Psalms containing “song in the night.” God led me first to  Psalm 77, then down a rabbit hole of Charles Spurgeon exposition on Psalm 16:7, like this in his Treasury of David:

“My reins also instruct me in the night seasons.” By the reins understand the inner man, the affections and feelings. The communion of the soul with God brings to it an inner spiritual wisdom which in still seasons is revealed to itself. Our Redeemer spent many nights alone upon the mountain, and we may readily conceive that together with his fellowship with heaven, he carried on a profitable commerce with himself; reviewing his experience, forecasting his work, and considering his position. Great generals fight their battles in their own mind long before the trumpet sounds, and so did our Lord win our battle on his knees before he gained it on the cross. It is a gracious habit after taking counsel from above to take counsel within. Wise men see more with their eyes shut by night than fools can see by day with their eyes open. He who learns from God and so gets the seed, will soon find wisdom within himself growing in the garden of his soul; “Thine ears shall hear a voice behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand and when ye turn to the left.” The night season which the sinner chooses for his sins is the hallowed hour of quiet when believers hear the soft still voices of heaven, and of the heavenly life within themselves.”

“As morning dawns and evening fades,

you inspire songs of praise

that rise from earth to touch your heart

and glorify your Name….

Jesus give us power to live for you

and glorify your Name.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

