Skip to content

What He Said

December 7, 2011

Just confessing this up front: I’ll never be good at self promotion.

If I was gifted that way, two years ago, when I read the how-to-promote-your-book books the marketing department recommended, I would have joined Facebook and Twitter and in other ways begun cultivating a “following” so that when my book is released next June, people everywhere will be waiting to read it, blog it, give-away it, and otherwise sell copies.

Well it aint gonna happen.

I’m not saying that God isn’t in social media. He is! And I know many of you are there, too.

But I’m not.

I don’t have the money to hire someone to do it for me. And I cannot imagine where I would find the time to do it myself.

Instead, if A Thrilling Narrative sells it will be because God’s hand was on it from the beginning and because He has some purpose for it in the world.

The University Nebraska Press just released excerpts from the first of the two scholarly reviews that sold them on acquiring the manuscript. This is as close as to self-promotion as I can manage right now, so thank you for humoring me :).

“[The editors] have provided splendid introductions and meticulous and helpful annotations that allow readers to appreciate the importance of this account. Zeman’s historical introduction is a scholarly tour de force that reflects an impressive knowledge of the relevant sources and also a good sense of what is significant. . . . It is a complex story that is here well told and convincing. . . . It is an outstanding work.”—Professor Raymond DeMallie, editor of The Sixth Grandfather: Black Elk’s Teachings Given to John G. Neihardt

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

