Skip to content

Turning a Corner

February 25, 2012

Joy will be five in a few weeks. This afternoon, when I walked into the room, she looked up from her snack and spontaneously said, “Hi, Mama. Hi!”

She’s been able to echo, “Mama” for years. But she’s never before used my name spontaneously. Appropriately. Without being cued or quoting Llama Llama Red Pajama calling for his mama.

Twice this week, from her playroom she smelled dinner cooking and told me she noticed.  She looked up at me in the kitchen and called out: once “Chicken!” the other time, “Grilled Cheese!” She’s never told us she is hungry or asked for a snack or indicated that she thinks about food.

Three times this week, as I’ve passed through her playroom, she’s used words to volunteer a need she wanted me to meet: diaper; stories; night-night.

Then at dinner tonight, she made her first verbal negation. Hope offered Joy a piece of sliced turkey and persisted even after Joy closed her lips and turned her head away. So Joy looked at Hope and said, “I don’t want it.”

I cheered and clapped!

Joy looked at me and raised her eyebrows. Like,”What’s the big deal?

In her mind, she’s been expressing herself for years, making her likes and needs and intentions perfectly clear. From Joy’s point of view, the only miracle is that the people around her are finally beginning to understand.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mabiclark permalink
    February 25, 2012 11:00 am

    God is so good!!! I am so glad that your hard work is paying off. Very cool.

  2. February 27, 2012 9:07 am

    What a wonderful early birthday gift for the entire family! Now that she is started, I just know that her spontaneous speech is going to continue to grow. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

