Skip to content

Reciprocal Conversations

March 28, 2012

March 27, 2012 was a big day for our family. Joy and I had our first reciprocal conversation. And Mercy began the most important reciprocal conversation of all.

After dinner I was sorting laundry on the family room floor. I noticed Joy glance over at me from her place at the kitchen table. Then her eyes lifted to the ceiling fan above my head.

“Mama,” she said in her quiet little voice,”Turn fan on.”

My mommy heart lit up. That’s a really good sentence for her. And she took the initiative to use language to ask for something she wanted.

“Sure, Honey. I’ll turn the fan on,” I said, smiling. I did, then returned to the laundry.

“Turn fan off,” Joy said. I looked up. She was grinning. “Turn fan off,” she repeated even more quietly, as if she didn’t want to offend.

“Okay, I’ll turn the fan off.” I did, grinning. I sat back down.

“Mama,” Joy whispered, so quietly I had to read her lips. “Turn fan on.” She laughed out loud.

“Of course I’ll turn the fan on, silly little goose,” I teased. “You’re going a wonderful job using your words tonight!”

“The wheels on the bus go round and round, round and round, round and round…” Joy answered in song, starring the fan.

I finished matching socks, cleaned up Joy, then left her playing on the floor with a couple of books while I went upstairs to put the laundry away. I heard her read Brown Bear out loud to herself, then some disconnected words as she flipped through a new book she has not yet memorized.

It got quiet for a few minutes. I imagined she was staring at the ceiling fan. Then:

“Turtle!” she shouted in her loudest voice, the only one that carries through the whole house. “Turtle! Turtle! Turtle!”

I came downstairs laughing. I detoured to collect Turtle from the playroom. “Yes, you can have your turtle, Joy!” I gave her a kiss and presented her favorite electronic toy.

“Turtle on,” she said, this time to herself, sliding the command switch on.

Joy just turned five. God is good!

*****

As for Mercy’s conversation, I am temporarily sworn to secrecy. Let’s just say it started this way.

“Mom, when people die, do they know they died?”

“I’m sure I’ll know I’ve died,” I assured her.

“Why?” she asked. “‘How will you know?”

“Because while I’m living in this body here on earth, I can’t see Jesus.  When I die, I think Jesus will be the first thing I see. It will be wonderful!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom2MissK permalink
    March 28, 2012 12:31 pm

    What a wonderful treat to hear so many words from that beautiful little girl! She is definitely on her way to something 🙂

  2. Joan permalink
    March 30, 2012 11:02 am

    Love, love, love both of these stories. I’m looking forward to seeing you again next summer. When I have definite dates, I’ll email you.

Leave a Reply

