Skip to content

Coming Home Day x 2

June 3, 2012

June 3, 2005. Faith, on Papa’s shoulders, was five and a half. Hope, on Papa’s lap, was six months old. Mercy, on my lap, was 16 months old. This was our family portrait after we arrived home from Korea with Hope, exactly one year from the day we arrived home with Mercy, on June 3, 2004.

Today, June 3, 2012, Faith is 12,  Mercy is 8, and Hope is 7.  We celebrated with a family trip to our favorite Korean restaurant.

As we ate and reminisced on subjects like, “What is the best pan jun we ate in Korea?” it was startling to me that even my “babies,” Hope and Mercy, are now old enough to have memories and opinions about specific restaurants there.  (The vote is split between two back-alley restaurants in Insadong, only one of which we could ever find again, Go Gung.)

How precious is it that we have mutual memories of their homeland to share as a whole family? And people who live there that we love and miss? I was struck by the goodness of God. Not only in creating our family…

but in allowing us all to survive the years these two were both toddlers :). (Hope thought that all of Mercy’s towers were created for Hope’s pleasure –so Hope could knock them down.)

Today…

Mercy and Hope are best friends.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 1:22 am

    Have I ever commented before? I can’t remember… I’ve been “lurking” for probably about a year (found you from the awesome UrbanServant :-)). I was looking for an email address for you but couldn’t find one on your site…
    I LOVE your blog and have been so blessed by your openness about pursuing and seeing Christ in the midst of pain and changed dreams.
    A good friend’s mom just started a blog that I think you’d really enjoy (I already sent her a link to yours because I think you have so much in common): http://inpursuitofatoolbox.wordpress.com. They have two beautiful little girls who came to them through adoption, ten months apart, seven and six years ago, and they navigate the great joys and significant struggles of their road with grace, wisdom, and thankfulness.

    • June 4, 2012 8:33 am

      Emily,

      Thanks for the link! I had thanked you for introducing yourself but then realized I already “know” you because I enjoy your blog, too :). You are always an encouragement to me!

      • June 4, 2012 1:01 pm

        Aww! That’s so fun to know! What a fun surprise. Thank you for sharing 🙂
        Can you email me sometime so I could have your email address- I’d actually really like to send you a longer message about the ways your words have impacted me. 🙂

  2. June 4, 2012 9:40 am

    We call our day “airport day” — since we have not yet made the trip to Korea as a family. Someday… someday.

    Wishing your family happiness as you celebrate another year together!

Leave a Reply

