Skip to content

The Conversation Notebook

June 7, 2012

“The Homework Machine” by Hope, Spring 2012

I spent part of this afternoon sorting treasures from junk –the contents of Hope’s desk on this last day of school. There were many surprises, like the plot of the stories she wrote and illustrated and beautiful work from art clas.

And a tiny purple notebook.

Just before the notebook surfaced in the pile, I had placed a poem Hope wrote about the color purple in the “keep” pile. “Purple,” Hope wrote, “makes me feel good.”

This little purple book is the “conversation notebook” Hope has been telling me about since she started attending public school in  January.  I didn’t know it was purple, or even exactly what it was, until her wonderful first grade teacher, Mrs. S. sent it home today.

So I settled back in the midst of piles of paper on the living room floor and began eavesdropping on the dialogue between my daughter and her teacher.

On the first page her teacher welcomed her to their class, said she wanted to get to know her, shared she has been teaching for 24 years, and ended, “Ask me any questions. Love, Mrs. S.”

The next page Hope’s printing reads, “Der Mes.s I liuk. TV”

“Dear Hope,” her teacher wrote back on the next page. “What shows to do you watch on TV? I like to watch the show,  The Middle. Love Mrs. S.”

“Dear Mrs. S.,” Hope wrote back. “I like tpt. Love Hope.” [TPT is our local PSB station.]

And so they wrote, back and forth, I’m guessing every week.

One week, Mrs. S. answered Hope’s question about her friends. Then she asked, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

Hope wrote back, “Dera Mrs. S. Wen I grow up I wat to bea Mom. I’m wudring wan you wre a yonure did you wot to be a techre Love Hope”

“Dear Hope, When I was little I wanted to be a nurse or a secretary and a mom! You will be a wonderful mom. What is your favorite part of school? Love, Mrs. S.”

“Dear Mrs. S. My favorite part of school is Math. Why did you want to be a nurse? Love Hope”

And so it goes. Several months into the year, an entry from Mrs. S. ends, “You have grown so much as a reader this year! Do you have a favorite author you like?”

“Dear Mrs. S.,” Hope answered. “Yes I do. What is your fareit?”

“Dear Hope. You didn’t tell me your favorite author! I like Jan Brett. Love, Mrs. S.”

“Dera Mrs. S. My mom is my faverit author,” Hope answered.

You guessed correctly: this little purple notebook is going into Hope’s permanent file :).

Now I’m on the prowl for three very special small notebooks: one each for Faith, Mercy and Hope to use with me. What a lovely way to keep a conversation open!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 3:29 pm

    LOVE this!!!!!!!!!

  2. June 7, 2012 4:49 pm

    That is so beautiful!

  3. June 7, 2012 11:58 pm

    I read your blog, but comment little. But this – this is wonderful! Will be implementing very, very soon. Thank you!

  4. One Thankful Mom permalink
    June 8, 2012 12:42 am

    This is the loveliest thing I’ve read all day. I may have to find some notebooks for my children.

  5. June 8, 2012 10:19 am

    This is so cool! I will totally have to remember to do this someday with Little Miss!

Leave a Reply

