Skip to content

Into Every Life A Little Chocolate Milk Must Fall

September 4, 2012

Last night, our summer went out with a bang:

The force of gravity acting on a full 2 gallon jug of milk falling four feet out of the refrigerator, seams splitting on impact. Not the tidy rebound in the “Plastic makes life possible!” commercial.

I must be off my game because I didn’t think of the camera until I was down to the dregs: cleaning up everything we’d used to clean up the spilled milk.

But the conversation that followed around the kitchen table over our overdone hamburgers was sweet.

I praised the impulsive one for standing still covered with dripping milk when she might have screamed and ran, streaming sticky milk all over the house.

I praised the one whose first instinct was in the ballpark: to open up a paper napkin and lay it neatly in the middle of the lake –and who immediately answered my request for towels and a laundry basket.

I praised the husband who instantly grasped that minimizing the impact of chocolate chaos was more important than rescuing the burgers from the grill.

Then I volunteered that God’s timing was great: with school starting, cleaning out the refrigerator was on my to-do list anyway.

Faith’s smile twitched; at 12 she’s catching on to how this works.

“Isn’t it great that God gave us a mud room in this house and that it’s right next to the kitchen?”

“And that there was an empty laundry basket?”

“And that we have lots of towels.”

” And that nobody yelled at me.”

“And that Daddy was here to help.”

“And Daisy didn’t run through the kitchen.”

“And that you had a headache yesterday.”

I interrupted the litany of provision. “That I had a headache yesterday?”

“Yes! You said you were going to wash the cabinets. But then you felt so sick you went to bed. If you had felt well, the cabinets would be clean and you would have felt upset when the milk exploded all over them!”

And a little child shall lead them.

I hadn’t thanked God for the headache yet. And for the still-dirty cabinets that sized my reaction to the milk explosion when I might have yelled or criticized and triggered an emotional meltdown.

We’ve learned these skills in deeper waters than spilled milk. I thank God for those, too.

Without panic or rage or guilt in the atmosphere last night, everyone slept well, woke up happy, and headed off this morning, excited for the first day of school.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2012 3:52 pm

    I loved this!

  2. September 9, 2012 10:54 pm

    What a great post! Thanks for the reminder to be thankful for ev.ery.thing. today. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Thank You For This Gift « daysofwonderandgrace

Leave a Reply

