Skip to content

It’s All Good

January 15, 2013

Just surfacing to say we’re all fine even though I’ve been quiet here. I’m just buried in good things.

We’re in the middle of remodeling our kitchen and our former dining room, turning much of the first floor into space that will be accessible to Joy in her wheelchair.  As of tonight I am down to running water, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a toaster oven. But much to my surprise –I love cooking– I am enjoying not cooking and barely washing dishes.  And since the kitchen and mud room (my substitute kitchen)  are a revolving wreck of construction mess, I don’t feel compelled to clean much. It feels like I’m on vacation in my own house :).

And when it is all over at the beginning of Feb., I think I’ll be drawn back into my old routines by the beauty of the new space. I will share the photos then –trusting  my camera cable will resurface when I reassemble my kitchen-corner office.

We are also enjoying a season of rest, having emerged from trauma anniversary season. FASD is still FASD. But for us there are patterns of worse and better. I find I’m grateful we’ve lived with it long enough to see the patterns and try to address them.

I have been praying  often for those of you, my friends, who have been given unremitting hard.

Life is also more restful because my diagnosis of MS was confirmed. It has been wake-up call from God that my own health has been at the bottom of my priority list for too many years. I’m feeling much saner for bumping it up.   If we mom of kids with special needs had time to reflect on it –and we don’t, generally, unless something dramatic happens like we temporarily lose the ability to see or speak –we would admit that the physical toll on us, the caregivers, isn’t something we previously imagined or made accommodations for.

I’m also blessed to me immersed in a couple of history projects I really care about, and the balance of this month is full bringing them to fruit. Meaningful work is good, too :).

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2013 12:09 am

    So sorry to hear about your diagnosis, and inspired by the peace and thankfulness you choose. Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

