Skip to content

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way Home from the Forum

September 17, 2013

Minnesota-History-Center-Saint-Paul

True story: As I was leaving the Minnesota Historical Society this morning, getting into my car I heard a voice calling, “Carrie! Carrie!”

It was Noel Piper with a hug for me from God. Seriously.

Noel, who this year is living a thousand miles away, is in town for the Desiring God National Conference and was coming to the MHS Library to do some research on missionary Esther Nelson. God arranged to have Noel park catty-corner from me, and to have her arrive just as I was leaving so we’d be walking in opposite directions up the same aisle at the same time to see each other.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 says, “To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven.”

To every thing. For every purpose.

I am not God and don’t claim to divine every thing He had in mind for that transient moment in the parking lot seeing Noel. But at the very least, He knew I needed a good hug. And a good reminder: He ordains everything. The God who ordains chance encounters also ordains the seasons that seem interminable.  But they are not; they are transient, too. Each season lasts exactly as long as God designed it to last to accomplish the purposes He intends.

I suppose it is only human to wish I could pick and choose which season to abbreviate and which to let linger, hmm?

Thanks for the hug, Noel :).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

